NCAA Rankings 2017-18

149: Choo Freaking Choo

Anyone with half a clue expected the Zain Train to chug along to a third straight NCAA title. What few expected was that his final NCAA opponent would be Ronnie Perry. But Perry took out the #2-seeded and #2-ranked wrestler, Brandon Sorensen, in the second round and never looked back. 

Sorensen would settle for fifth, capping off a great four-time All-American career for the Hawkeye. And winning the Comeback Wrestler of the Year Award (which I just made up but is still a very real thing) is Jason Tsirtsis, who was still fighting for a starting spot on Arizona State's team weeks before the tournament. Tsirtsis, a former national champion, finished seventh.

As Iowa State's lone representative at the NCAAs, Jarrett Degen acquitted himself well, winning three matches and advancing to the blood round despite being unseeded and unranked. Cortlandt Schuyler got revenge on Jared Prince from an EIWA loss, knocking the Midshipman out of the rankings and earning a spot in the top 20 for himself. 

Want to get in touch with the rankers? Follow Christian and Andrew on Twitter @CPyles8 @SpeyWrestle or email: or

RankGradeNameSchoolPrevious Rank
1SRZain RetherfordPenn State1
2SRRonnie PerryLock Haven15
3SOMatt KolodzikPrinceton7
4SRTroy HeilmannNorth Carolina6
5SRBrandon SorensenIowa2
6JRGrant LeethMissouri3
7SRJason TsirtsisArizona State12
8SOBoo LewallenOK State9
9SOKe-Shawn HayesOhio State4
10FRRyan DeakinNorthwestern5
11JRJustin OliverCentral Michigan8
12SOMax ThomsenUNI10
13FRJarrett DegenIowa StateNR
14SRColton McCrystalNebraska11
15SRBeau DonahueNC State14
16JRRyan BleesVirginia Tech13
17JRSteve BleiseMinnesota16
18JRCortlandt SchuylerLehighNR
19JRAlfred BannisterMaryland17
20SREleazar DeLuca Rutgers18