2023 Dan Hodge Trophy Award Rankings

2023 Dan Hodge Trophy Rankings

As a reminder, the Dan Hodge Trophy has set criteria to determine who the winner should be.

Hodge Trophy Voting Criteria:

1 – Record

2 – Dominance/Bonus-Point Percentage

3 – Quality of Competition

4 – Sportsmanship

David Carr doubled down on his five-point victory over Keegan O'Toole with a pin over him in the Big 12 finals, so while his bonus stats aren't as high as others, no one else is out here pinning NCAA champs.

Roman Bravo-Young drops due to only picking up one major decision at the Big Ten championships and not hitting any top-ranked guys while Mason Parris had to beat Greg Kerkvliet, Austin O'Connor had to beat Bryce Andonian, and Carter Starocci had to beat Mikey Labriola. RBY's strength of schedule is comparable to Andrew Alirez's. I know past credentials are no longer an official criteria, but RBY's two undefeated national championship seasons will no doubt influence voters.

I am happy to welcome undefeated conference champions Nino Bonaccorsi and Josh Humpreys. Despite Bonaccorsi's low bonus stats, his wins over Isaac Trumble 2X, Michael Beard, and Yonger Bastida among others give him a slight edge.

RankNameSchoolWeightYearPreviousRecordPinsBonus RateDominance Score
1Spencer LeeIowa125Senior117-0888%5.05
2David CarrIowa State165Senior422-0550%4.13
3Mason ParrisMichigan285Senior328-01164%4.5
4Austin O'ConnorNorth Carolina157Senior717-0482%4.52
5Carter StarocciPenn State174Junior519-0273%4.1
6Roman Bravo-YoungPenn State133Senior216-0475%4.43
7Andrew AlirezNorthern Colorado141Junior622-0681%4.59
8Daton FixOklahoma State133Senior826-0561%4.07
9Real WoodsIowa141Senior1116-0256%4.06
10Nino BonaccorsiPitt197SeniorNR16-0037%3.43
11Pat GloryPrinceton125Senior1220-0340%3.85
12Josh HumphreysLehigh157SeniorNR16-0356%4.06