2018 Super 32 Challenge

6 Super 32 Champs Looking To Go Back-To-Back

6 Super 32 Champs Looking To Go Back-To-Back

Super 32 is here again and there will be some returning champs looking to go back-to-back.

Oct 24, 2018 by Ryan Holmes

Super 32 is here again and there will be some returning champs looking to go back-to-back. 


Oct. 27-28 | 8:00 AM Eastern

To be exact, there will be six guys who went home with belts around their waist in 2017 that will be looking to repeat as champ once again this year. Let’s check out the list of last year’s champs that will be in action once again this weekend.

#3 Cullan Schriever, IA (113)

Last year’s clutch performance in the 106 pound finals against current #1 ranked Richie Figueroa, who will be back again at 106, was one of the slickest moments of the tournament. With a tie score he hit an elbow duck and took the 4-2 lead with short time left to secure the win and the belt. 

This year, if he puts on another flawless outing he could walk away with more than just the belt as #1-ranked Greg Diakomihalis enters at 113 as well. Schriever took a loss to Greg D in Akron, where he was also injured during the match, so getting some revenge along with the belt, and making a move in the rankings could be in store for recent Iowa verbal commit.

Watch Schriever take out Figueroa in last year’s final:


Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

#3 Adam Busiello, NY (126)

We’ve already dug into what’s at stake for Busiello. There’s a whole heap of history that he could take back to New York with him should he keep his impressing belt collecting streak going. He hasn’t lost a match at S32 since 2011. Seven straight belts dating back to his middle school days, and the potential to become the first ever four-timer.

Things were pretty tight between him and Travis Ford-Melton in last year’s final where a perfectly timed super duck in OT is what kept him flawless. Can he do it again this year? If rankings hold he will meet #2 Dominick Serrano with the history on the line. 

Check out Busiello’s clutch OT win in last year’s finals:


# 2 Ryan Anderson, PA (145)

Let’s be serious, Anderson has a crazy hard pace. He tries to mowed down every opponent with intense pressure. It makes for a grueling match with just about every guy he’s comes up against. A season ago he needed every bit of that pressure to edge Jaden Abas in the finals. 

Anderson claimed a 3-2 overtime win over the California State champ after both guys locked horns like a bunch of bulls. This year he’s up at 145 with a different set of problems waiting for him. Looking to knock off Anderson are #3 Fidel Mayora, #4 Kevon Davenport and #2 at 138 Keegan O’Toole, to name a few. The Iowa State verbal commit will definitely have his hands full.

#2 Brevin Balmeceda, FL (152)

After winning it at 152 last year, Balmeceda, who is now the 2nd ranked guy at 160, will be returning at 152. Last year he shut out Josh Kim in the finals and showed off his complete skill set both offensively and defensively with turns, takedowns and keeping Kim off his legs. 

He will be looking to bounce back from a pretty big loss to #1 Alex Facundo, who will be in the mix at 160, at Who’s #1 where nothing went his way. But he’s had time to regroup and I think we will see an even more determined Balmeceda.

#5 Patrick Kennedy, MN (170)

Like Balmeceda, Kennedy is coming back at the same weight where he won his previous belt. In last year’s final he took out #9 Chris Foca, who is also returning here as well. Along with Foca, Kennedy will have a pretty solid cast of contenders looking to take his place atop of the S32 podium this year which includes Dustin Plott, another returning finalist, Alex Cramer, Kai Bele and Edmond Ruth.

#1 Braxton Amos, WV (220)

The score may have been close in his title clinching win last year, but he was in control from start to finish. It’s going to be very tough to knock off this returning champ. Amos has showed that he’s a force in just about every tournament. He’s got multiple Fargo titles and placed very high in Akron. 

Watch Amos' win in last year's final: