California'™s Morgan McIntosh wins the 2011 Dave Schultz High School Excelle

California'™s Morgan McIntosh wins the 2011 Dave Schultz High School Excelle

STILLWATER, Okla. -- Morgan McIntosh, a high school senior from Calvary Chapel High School in Santa Ana, California, has been selected as the national winner of the 2011 Dave Schultz High School Excellence National Award presented by the National Wrestling Hall of Fame & Museum.

The High School Excellence Award is named in honor of Olympic and World Champion Dave Schultz. Each award recipient is evaluated on excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, character, citizenship, and community service.

McIntosh was selected from the 49 state winners and five regional winners that were announced on April 19.

"Dave Schultz was an outstanding college wrestler as well as one of the greatest international wrestlers to come out of America," said McIntosh. "He represented the United States by competing in different countries around the world and became an influential ambassador for the sport of wrestling.

"This honor is extremely gratifying and humbling because I was chosen out of thousands of high school wrestlers in the United States."

McIntosh compiled a career record of 189-5 with 128 pins. He was a three-time state champion and a freestyle national champion at USA Wrestling's Junior Nationals in 2010. McIntosh was also a double junior Western Regional champion in 2008 in freestyle and 
Greco-Roman, a 2010 Ironman champion, and a two-time Flo Nationals champion.

His community service includes being involved with the Calvary Chapel hydroponic project, which included a mission trip to Mexico to construct and maintain the unit near Ensenada. McIntosh was also the only high school student to go on the tsunami relief trip to America Samoa in 2009 to help rebuild a devastated village. In addition, he volunteers as a coach with Team Thunder Kids, as well as assisting with camps and clinics. He maintains a 3.2 weighted GPA and plans to attend Penn State this fall.

"Morgan McIntosh is an outstanding recipient of this honor," said Lee Roy Smith, Executive Director of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame & Museum. "He has balanced his priorities both on and off the mat with humility and a keen sense of purpose in academics, wrestling and community."

McIntosh will attend Honors Week on June 8-9 to accept the award. The following is a list of previous award winners:


Dave Schultz High School Excellence National Winners


1996 David Kjeldgaard, Lewis Central High School, Council Bluffs, Iowa

1997 Jeff Knupp, Walsh Jesuit High School, Akron, Ohio

1998 Garrett Lowney, Freedom High School, Appelton, Wisconsin

and Justin Ruiz, Taylorsville High School, Salt Lake City, Utah

1999 Zach Roberson, Blue Valley North West High School, Overland Park, Kansas

2000 Ben Connell, Lugoff-Elgin High School, Lugoff, South Carolina

2001 Steven Mocco, Blair Academy, Blairstown, New Jersey

2002 Teyon Ware, Edmond North High School, Edmond, Oklahoma

2003 C. P. Schlatter, St. Paul Graham High School, Urbana, Ohio

2004 Coleman Scott, Waynesburg High School, Waynesburg, Pennsylvania

2005 Troy Nickerson, Chenango Forks High School, Chenango Forks, New York

2006 David Craig, Brandon High School, Brandon, Florida

2007 Zachary Sanders, Wabasha-Kellog High School, Wabasha, Minnesota

2008 Jason Chamberlain, Springville High School, Springville, Utah

2009 David Taylor, Graham High School, St. Paris, Ohio

2010 Logan Steiber, Monroeville High School, Monroeville, Ohio

FloSports, Inc.

FloSports, an innovative sports media and events company, based in Austin, Texas, is the authentic source for content and a new world of coverage that true fans have been waiting for. Focused on three areas – live competition and coverage, original content, and owned and operated events – the company takes fragmented communities and provides them the platform to connect with the sports they love.

Learn More at